Fotomatikus

By hazelh

Lunch at the Oxford and Cambridge Club

I've been to London again today for a meeting at the British Library. For a change, at lunchtime my friend S and I wandered over to Pall Mall for lunch at her club. I must say that I was very impressed with the whole set-up there and rather sorry that it's highly unlikely that I will ever qualify for membership (unless one of the universities wants to award me an honorary degree, or decides to employ me). Unfortunately my own alma mater - the University of Birmingham - does not have such a facility in London. A further regret was this was not the kind of place to whip out your camera. This is a real pity because there was so much of interest to photograph there.

I found it both amusing and shocking that it is only quite recently that the club has allowed women to be full members. S herself was the first woman ever to hold a position on one of the club's committees.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.