and through the wire...

By hesscat

60 days

It's a new dawn
It's a new day
It's a new year
For me
And I'm feeling blip!

For anyone who knows me, I like routines, patterns, sequences, traditions... but that's not to say I like randoms too! My first blip here 2 years ago today consisted of pretty much the same theme, different location and without the hobbit. Last year same, different guitars... so I think that's enough to make the 1st of January suitable for this now traditional blip...  here we're at Inversnaid Hotel overlooking Loch Lomond.

So this is #pledgeblipfoto day, most people must know there's a bit of turmoil and only 60 days to save the world as we know it. I am not sure what I would do without blipfoto, so I pledged a few weeks ago. For anyone also looking to do so and are able to, they should do before 11th January when the position is reviewed. It's important to note, it's only a pledge, the payment would not be taken unless the £180K is raised, and only after 60 days.

The trouble with t'internet, we are used to things for free... but all these things are not really free, the companies behind them are making money out of you somehow, whether by advertising to you or sharing/selling your data with others. We don't like it, but we accept it. Blipfoto has avoided this and had tried to mix both free and membership options, but it is clear (IMHO) that investors wanted more growth than was achieved. We are probably lucky it has still been running since March! So I am happy to pay an annual fee, I get so much out of blipfoto and it has turned out much more than I thought it would be.

In my profile I mention watching the film Smoke where Harvey Keitel took a photo of the same street scene every day which appealed to me (hence this 1st January tradition!), but I only thought I would begin doing something like that! I love looking back over my blips and seeing how different they are, and how difficult some were to take or even think of and some of the fun we've had... and a journal too, so much better than a diary :-)

I said I can't imagine life without blip, I am sure I would continue to do the same thing, but I want to do it all with you guys, right here!

If you can, and have not already done so, and it's fine if you can't, have another wee think about it:

https://www.blipfuture.com/

And Happy New Year to All!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.