Cass

It's cooler today and the weather is changing. The cooler conditions gave me an opportunity for a run, with rabbits and birds for company

We fished locally at Lake Grassmere but the fish weren't interested in anything. One silly trout did have a go at the nymph on my fly line but didn't take it. It was an awful cast from me so I'm not sure how I managed to interest it.

The drizzle came and went, came again and turned to light rain. Then it drizzled, only to rain again. It wasn't cold and we certainly won't die wondering. When fly rods weren't working we changed to spin. But chunks of metal, interspersed with clever plastic didn't pique any interest.

In theory fishing conditions were perfect - overcast, little or no wind, dropping barometric pressure... On the far side of the lake we saw some large fish jumping and in the afternoon there was the odd rise, but always out of casting range.

Fishing is like that. If it were any different we'd call it catching ;-)

 I went for an image of Cass today. It's similar to but not as quintessential as the famous Rita Angus, Cass. I love this painting and now the Christchurch Art Gallery is repaired, I'll be able to go and see the original again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.