Maximisation

Good things that happened today, in no particular order.

1: I had cake and coffee with my friends Vicky and Jane and was bought a beautiful orchid plant ( note to self: at least bloody try with this one, you can not allow a plant that is a gift to die within 2 days like all the rest)

2: I arsed about in charity shops with Jane, watching her buy seventies cook books ( just for the Fanny Craddock style photos) for her new boyfriend -don't even ask.

3: I baked lots of delicious cake in my new oven.

4: I joined a postcard sending club which appears to be full of people who make me look demure and unsweary.

5: Oh yes and I celebrated my 5th year anniversary of not dying. 5 years ago today I was given 3 hours to live. ( 3 hours FFS, I mean how are you meant to do your bucket list in that amount of time???I wouldn't have even had time to track Bono down, let alone persuade him to snog me.) The details have been told many many times but all you need to know is I left ICU on a bed and not in a body bag.

This is always a good day although I usually have a little cry at the start of it as I know how lucky I was.

I could reflect much at this point but the main thing I have learnt is that you must live life to the full and I try every single day to do that. I am not good at sitting still ( and no it's not the haemorrhoids) I guess I am just scared of missing something. I like to live to the max , somedays this is chaos, sometimes slightly more organised - ok yes still chaos - but you know what, I love it all. I have a good life and two beautiful girls, a good job, a roof over our heads ( even if the inside does look like the set of Steptoe and Son) I am healthy and have gorgeous friends. What else could I need ? I mean holidays in the Maldives are so overated.....

This is my little satirical nod to all the anaesthetists who saved my life , they do of course do much more than the song suggests , as do the nurses.

Thanks for indulging me here I am feeling a little emotional and needed to ramble. I will try and catch up with you later but I feel I need to go and sit with my thoughts for a while..

xxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.