My Life Is Not Average

By melamny

People

In an attempt to improve my photography, and to prepare for leading a photography club in the months ahead, I'm planning to give myself a different photography theme each month until at least the summer. During each month I will research that theme, practise relevant techniques, and try to post as many theme-relevant Blips as possible.

To start me off, January's theme is People. I will be working on taking portraits; how to make my subjects feel comfortable, pose well, look their best, how to use lighting well without fancy equipment, consideration of background and clothing, and precise focusing; and also candid shots, practising capturing "moments", taking into account location, framing, etc.

My ideas for the months ahead include street photography - something I struggle with - and landscapes, which will go hand-in-hand with my aim to get out walking more this year. I'm avoiding macro because I do enough of that anyway! Please let me know if you have any other suggestions for themes I can explore, or any advice on my current theme, links to good resources etc.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.