Growing old disgracefully

By GOD

AN EMERGENCY BLIP

...without any real excuse.

Met a pal for a morning coffee that extended beyond lunch then spent far too many hours faffing about trying to get our Not so sure Not So Sure 'Sure Signal' box working again. We are in a mobile black spot and it has been soooo difficult to get people to call our landline when they can't get us on mobile that we gave in and bought agadget for £50 from Vodafone which captures the mobile signal over the broadband. Falling asleep already? Me too! Anyway, it worked for a wee while, just long enough for us to tell all our contacts that, yes, we would now get their texts, but then up and died on us. Vodafone blames Virgin, Virgin blames Vodafone. Finally I got someone who claimed it was all about latency, which my dictionary defines as 'the ability of a pathogenic virus to lie dormant' so he could be right. Anyway, at one point everything went down, including our landline phone and the dishwasher and I seriously contemplated moving somewhere far from the evil hand of technology..

But we are up and running now and feeling more cheerful. My morning coffee pal brought me this leaflet. She knows I am going to Waternish later this year and we both love the area. So it is going up by my computer to remind me that there is more to life than this virtual world.

THRE GOOD THINGS:
I didn't throw my computer through the window
I didn't swear at the technician
Me and my pal spent the morning planning a wee escape to Amsterdam a week on Monday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.