I bet.....

...you can't guess where I went on the way home from work?

It was a chilly start to the day. It was an even chillier start at the session in Farnworth today. The heat hadn't been on in the hall before we arrived so the room was cold, we had to wait until it hit sixteen degrees....apparently this is the magic figure. We shouldn't work when it is below that temperature. Also, we would probably lose a few donations because the blood would clot in the tubes. The thermometer sat proudly in the middle of the room, we wrapped up in coats and the donors sat waiting....we all watched the thermometer. 

We gave the donors cups of tea to keep warm, the heaters dribbled out little wafts of heat that became lost in the room and we watched the thermometer.

The time ticked away, we rubbed our chilly fingers to keep warm....and we all watched the thermometer.

Our temporary manager came out to session. Our newly appointed manager came out to session. More donors arrived...we had to give them alternative times....and we all watched the thermometer.

Eventually, it hit the magic number and we began. The manager had arranged for heaters to be delivered....six arrived and were dotted around the room. It warmed up nicely, it got warmer....and warmer....and warmer. We went from the sublime to the ridiculous. From fridge to sauna in a few hours. Oh well, it would be very boring if we didn't have these sort of days to liven things up lol. 

I'd had a stressful start to the day as I had to set up the computer. I'm not bad on a computer, but it is all fiddly stuff getting the system started on a session. Then at teatime I was on Reg and had to reconcile everything....I'd forgotten how to do it and needed help. I tried to write notes on what to do as I was being shown so I would remember for next time, but it wasn't easy. I think I'm going to be on it again on Thursday....which is good, but holy cow I've forgotten it all again.


Now I just need to slee................zzzzzzzzzzzzzz

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.