Certainly Uncertain

By shyBadger

Mothra, O Mothra!

On our morning walk today I found an Antherea Polyphemus (a giant silk moth - and by giant it has a 6 inch(15 cm) wingspan o_0). She couldn't fly and was in the middle of a parking lot road area, so I scooped her up and put her in the dogs' treat bag to have a photo shoot at home. Oddly enough, I found a Luna Moth (another giant silk moth) in the exact same spot a few weeks ago, but I managed to get that one flying again at least. Corra was all about her and I had to keep reminding her to be gentle. Loki did not care - other than glancing at her when she was flapping her wings all over him (and seriously, her wings made quite a lot of wind ...). So I took a million pictures of her and then started looking on the internet to figure out what she was. While I was googling it up, the moth wandered off and I didn't know where to. I asked Corra "Where did that moth go?" and she zoomed over to her pile of toys and plucked the moth out and plopped it in the middle of the room. Poor moth :( Though she didn't seem worse for wear (other than being wet from Corra drool ...) So anyways, way too hard to pick just one for today. I'm trying to collect some eggs from her so I can try and raise a few from caterpillars. We'll see how that goes ...

Tomorrow is my Mum's birthday and we're throwing her a party at an arboretum. Should be interesting :) Enjoy your weekend and night all!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.