Church of St Thomas the Martyr, Newcastle

Out early this morning for the usual trip to Morrisons. Then I made chicken casserole to put into the slow cooker ready for my evening meal.  Then I went to Newcastle - to the hairdressers. Not my favourite thing to do but my hair really needed cutting.

I had bought a Living Social deal a while ago for cut/blowdry -  it was at a hairdressers where I hadn't been before which was called Tommy Boo. It was very quiet in the salon - just me and one other person.  It all went well and I'm pleased with the result.

When I came out of the hairdressers I took this shot of the church across the road.  Its the Church of St Thomas the Martyr.  It is a 19th-century Anglican re-foundation of a medieval chapel. It is dedicated to St Thomas Becket, Archbishop of Canterbury who was murdered in 1170. It has no parish however it maintains a normal routine of regular weekly services. It is regarded as serving the whole city, the two universities and various organisations and communities.

I did some shopping before coming home - nothing exciting - just cat food, cat treats and biscuits.  Actually the biscuits are exciting - to me.  I discovered Oreo Peanut Butter sandwich biscuits in Poundland - 2 packs for £1.  And - after checking online  - I found that they are only 2½ syns each so they are perfect for a little treat now and again.

The chicken casserole was ready when I got home and I had it with butternut squash and sprouts.  Tasty - and syn free.

( Last nights football was full of action - and goals.  The final score was Newcastle 3 - Manchester United  3.  So pleased I made the effort to go.  The atmosphere was great.  And it wasn't too cold )

Steps today - 10,611

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.