Glorious profusion

The continuous rain hasn't encouraged me to take pictures since I returned, but I was drawn to this lovely flowering cactus today. Helena returned early from her work and was greeted by Bomble who heard her arrive and decided to get up from his regular deep sleep in the middle of the day.

He climbed onto the table and I thought it would make a fun picture to have him in the shot beside the cactus. He, of course, had other ideas and by the time I had got my camera set up he had decided it was time to hassle Helena for his supper, several hours early.

I had put the cactus out in the ran to get a wash and a drink, and brought it back inside to dry off on the table before returning it to its regular perch in the shade of the back room. I don't remember it ever having produced so many flowers before, so it must be very happy with its current location. I had to lie on the ground to get a view up into the flower so all the delicate detail of its stamens could be seen. There are even longer stems hanging down below the edge of the frame, with even more flowers at their tips. I love it.

But I do wish Bomble had remained sitting behind the plant looking down at me through the flowers, with his beautiful eyes burning brightly. In fact there may be a flurry of occasional series of cacti shots, because all the various types I have growing seem to be flowering at once. Watch this blip space. Maybe I can entice Bomble back again, without bribing him with morsels of food.

PS
I have back blipped a series of pictures since I went away last Saturday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.