Sandcastle Holidays

By Sandcastle

First fine radish

My husband is growing all sorts of salad and veg in bags and containers on the patio as we don't really have a good spot for vegetables in our garden proper.

This evening when the rain, which had tipped down all day, let up enough for me to venture out to the compost heap to dispose of some cut flowers which were past their best, I noticed this fine specimen of a radish peeking out from one of the pots.

This is his first attempt at growing radishes, and when I asked why, as none of us eats them, he said 'I don't know'.

I sliced this one up and found it had a crunchy texture and a delicious peppery after taste. A quick post of a similar pic on Facebook, and my cousin in France said that you could make delicious cheese scones with grated radishes. And if you are feeling brave, she said, you could brush them with milk and scatter the tops with cracked black pepper. Sounds like that's any potential glut of radishes taken care of.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.