Respect!

Let's get this clear: we don't know this young man; we don't know if he's genuinely dour or not; we don't know if his funny facebook posts are a better reflection of his personality; we don't know what he is feeling inside; we don't know about the joys and sorrows of his life. Commentators say he polarises opinion. We don't know him so how can we 'love' or 'hate' him? If we say we do either of these we are acting as 'fans' not rational beings. We can find him unappealing .... as I certainly found Federer's churlish behaviour when Rafa won in Melbourne. But if we are happy to praise high achievers in music, literature, business, science, medicine , then why can't we be generous about top-flight achievement in sport?

I am no great fan of sport although I have always enjoyed watching tennis. But I admire determination; the mental struggle and the sacrifice to be the best you can be; the self-flagellation when you fall short of the standard you have set yourself. I admire the achiever who tries to give something back; I admire the rich man who manages to stay grounded, according to those who do know him. I admire sportsmanship and the generosity of spirit which recognises the strengths of your opponent.

If he wins I will be delighted for him and for Scotland; if he doesn't , I will continue to admire and respect him.

Come on, Andy! Do it just for you!



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.