photosbyjon

By photosbyjon

Day 21 of 366 - Cook Street Gate!

Today's image is of Cook Street Gate. The gate was originally part of the Medieval Town wall of Coventry and was built during the 14th century. This gatehouse was one of twelve forming part of the surrounding wall. Most of the town wall and gates were demolished in 1662 by the orders of King Charles II. This was a punishment for Coventry siding with the Parliamentarians during the English Civil war. The Gate along with the nearby Swanswell (or Priory) Gate are the only two that have survived out of the original twelve gates to the city. It is thought that upon it's completion Coventry had the strongest city wall (except for London) in England. The Gatehouse is a Grade I Listed Building as well as being a scheduled ancient monument.

The photo was taken using the App VividHDR on my iPhone 6.

I first used the app Snapseed to edit the image. I did this by cropping the photo, then adding more structure and detail to the image. I also boosted warmth, saturation and ambiance. Next I used the app Painteresque to give the image the look of a old painting. The preset I used was A custom version of the painteresque 2 style. Finally I used the app Camera Genius to add the Gold Art Deco frame.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.