Too Late

Don't say it often but I got all the desk tasks done I set out to do today. Desperate for fresh air before dark I was about to take Caley up the hill and the phone went; a guy I have been trying to reach for several days so it was important I got to speak with him. After that I still set off but with the torch in my pocket for the return. There wasn't much light left at the top, in fact it was totally dark.
Tonight I have been trying to print a couple of A1 plans. Thankfully most of our stuff goes out electronically. The wide format printer (plotter) is horrendously expensive to run. I would like to scrap it but the requirement crops up llike today.to print a couple of plans. My PC woke up one morning recently brandishing Windows 10 as the OS. Tonight was my first time using the plotter since the "upgrade" and the device had become invisible on the nerwork. Various downloads, firewall tweaks followed and I finally gor the beast to respond.
A word about the cynical "chipping" of all the consumables on the Canon plotter. Left switched on it purges ink to a swab in a tray (also chipped). If you switch it off and then switch it on after 2 months I'd swear it does 2 months of purging before going online, thus wasing expensive ink. If the chip fails in the maintenance tray (I had this on a very new clean one) Canon do not sell a chip you have to bin the whole unit; too big to fit in say a shoe box, and buy a new tray. If you printed one deawing a year I reckon it would still consume the same ink as it would for 500 pages in the same time.
While it has never stopped working, other than because of a chip dictating so, my negative and costly experiences with this device determined that I would consciously never buy another Canon product. 
Obviously they make very good DSLRs but I now have a box of all Nikon SLR stuff, not because I actively favoured Nikon I just wanted something that wasn't Canon.

Girn over!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.