Supposedly Squirrelproof, Part 2

(Nothing I saw today in downtown Bellingham was as cute as this!)

Hello, it's Ms. Douglas Squirrel again, bringing you a live report from Bellingham. The geezer living in this house thought he could keep me from pushing the bird feeder off the deck table by doing this. I stayed away for a few days, letting him think that he'd won.

But today I felt really hungry, so I stopped by again. I totally ignored the suet cake feeder on the table because that was beneath my dignity. (And maybe I was a little afraid that once I pushed my way into it, I might not get out again...)

Instead, I scooted up the really long post that holds up another suet cake feeder, including getting past the slippery red bit that's supposed to stop squirrels. No problem for me, not with that brand-new seed-filled suet cake at the top! Just to make it clear to the birds who thought that was for them, I sat on top of the post for quite a while, just looking around and thinking pleasant thoughts.

Then I set about eating, taking my time and letting the white-haired woman who lives with the geezer take a lot of pictures.I tried to be dainty, but goodness me, how sticky those seeds are with suet on them! You can see what I mean in the extra photo. 

The old woman finally got tired of snapping photos, and I was so full that I thought I'd burst, so we called it a draw. She went her way, and I went mine... but I'll be back.

Blip 1467

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.