I'm ready for my close up...

but not my hat!

I had my follow up chest x-ray this morning after my bout with pneumonia. It's been over a month and the tech said the timing was perfect. It was over quickly and I assume all is well, I'll  get a note from the doctor if all is well, or a call to come in if not.

My thoughts today while driving took me back to my elementary school  classroom.  30 years ago today, the pride of New England, the first teacher, first ordinary citizen in space, Christa McAuliffe perished with six other brave space explorers in the Challenger Space Shuttle disaster. We didn't have a television in my kindergarten classroom, but many of the older students 10-12 year olds watched the tragedy live, as the shuttle exploded in a ball of flames, just 1 minute after lift off. The billowing trails and great orange fireball confused many initially, including Christa's parents watching with so many in the stands. Disbelief became horror. Seventeen years later it was Columbia, but I remember the loss of Challenger so very vividly.  Christa was simply one of ours, a teacher. Now she is part of the sky and sea, in our collective hearts forever.

Radio program, Locals remember Christa


For the Record,
This day came in cold and sunny, warming up in the afternoon.

All hands healing.

Mirror series

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.