pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

Mollie Cooks

Awake far too early considering my late night, but once awake and in unfamiliar surroundings it is always difficult to go back to sleep.

I got up around 8 (after checking all was well in the world on my phone) and went downstairs where Neil was busily filling his car with what appeared to be the entire contents of Lily's bedroom. In actual fact it was just the important stuff (so 95% then) ready for the drive back to Uni. Lily is in her first year down in Brighton & loving it. As Karen was on a night shift, I did the mum bit and hugged them both then waved them on their way.

Karen & I had a cup of tea and an hours chat (well I talk, she listens; she's a good listener) before I set off for home and she went to bed.

I arrived home at 12ish to an empty house. Henry was out with his friends in Norwich for one of the group's birthday. Jon & Mollie were in Morrisons. So I took the time to wander round my garden checking on the snowdrops and aconites. Pleased to see a few coming up, having survived a rushed move last year.

After lunch M & I went to Holt, charity shop shopping. We had a nice couple of hours. Mollie is coming round to the idea of wearing clothes once owned by someone else! I remember a time when she wouldn't even enter the shops, and getting her to a jumble sale was an absolute no!

We had a dinner of tagliatelli with a nice mushroom, bacon and cream cheese sauce, courtesy of Mollie. We also had the 9p kippers from Christmas.

They're watching a film now, so I'm having an early night. Housework & The Archers omnibus to look forward to tomorrow...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.