Baby Adam

My daughter's friend Claire asked if we would photograph her 7 week old little boy Adam today.  So off we went.  He was a well behaved and gurgled away happily :-)  But it's so dam difficult to photograph them!!  It's pushed me closer to getting a new camera though.  I'm used to outdoor portraits and this camera at nearly six years old doesn't cope so well with indoor shoots, well without lights anyway. 

Before we left for BofE though I was in tears quite often as I listened to Mark Goodier on Radio 2 doing a tribute show to Terry Wogan who died of cancer early this morning.  I asked myself why I was so emotional about someone I hadn't even met.  All I could think of was that I had enjoyed his humour and cheeriness all through my life.  I think my earliest introduction to Terry was the Eurovision Song Contest, which he was hilarious on making fun of the bonkersness of it.  Come Dancing also in the 70s.  Blankety Blank, his chatshow, Points of View, Children in Need and longest of all, when he presented the morning show on Radio 2.  He brightened up my commute to work and many a time I would arrive at work and park the car but would have to sit and wait till he had finished reciting a Janet and John story as it was just so funny...  It was a sad day when he finished up there handing over to Chris Evans.  There certainly isnt the same laughs as there was then.  Probably due to the TOGS  that contributed so much to the show.. 

Still listened to him on a Sunday morning at 11, and Richard would quite often say that he was just sitting in and expecting Terry back soon.

I have Terry to thank for introducing me to the music of Eva Cassidy, Beth Neilson-Chapman who I have seen three times since then and also Gretchen Peters and seen her live same number of times.  She is a fantastic singer songwriter from America..  The last time I saw her at Inchyra, a lovely intimate gig in a converted barn near Perth, she mentioned that she had Terry Wogan to thank for bringing her to the notice of the British public, and the song https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2Qe7YtGmTbs When you are old. was one he specially loved.  She mentioned today that she will be dedicating the song to Terry when she plays at the Concert Hall in Glasgow tonight.  There wont be a dry eye in the house I think.

He seemed such a genuinely nice guy.  Such a fantastic wit and loved by many.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.