our daily brot

I have become, what my good friend Tim calls, a supermarket tart.  He calls me this because he is one himself and recognises the breed.

In the part of Milton Keynes were we live, there are no ‘proper’ food shops.  Just supermarkets; various sizes and logos, but supermarkets just the same.  None of them satisfy our needs entirely so we have to play the field. 

I use Waitrose when I’m in a hurry because I can use the scanner, Aldi when I want the things that Waitrose sell, but for half the price, M&S when we fancy a treat and Morrisons for bread.

I was in Germany last October with Tim and he introduced me to the delights of German bread.  The nearest thing I can find to Brot is this pumpernickel loaf from Morrisons.  

The first thing to say about it is that it’s still warm.  And then, when I cut a slice, the smell; not unlike a dark beer.  As far as taste is concerned, you’ll just have to take my word for it.  

It took more than one slice before I was happy with my blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.