Treasure Trove #8: Parental Artefacts

Friday was the big day, the day of the funeral, and dawned with dire weather warnings such that I feared we would not be able to make it up the M5 to Sutton Coldfield. All went well, however, and both the funeral and the reception that followed at the Park Hotel in Sutton Park were well attended. The constant rain unfortunately meant that guests couldn't spill out of the function room into the beer garden overlooking Sutton Park. Some of them had travelled large distances and overcome severe personal difficulties to pay their respects to our father.

My personal challenge was to get through the buffet without getting egg on my (borrowed) Savile Row tie - and this was achieved.

There was far too much going on to take any pictures there, but after we got back I took this picture of three items I have collected from his home. The miniature Indian chest was something I had given to my mother for a birthday present many years ago; the jug was commissioned for their golden wedding anniversary and is illustrated with iconic objects such as one of Dad's Riley 9's; the tiny chest of drawers on my right was made by my grandfather and was in daily use.

L.
10.7.2012

Lens: Pentax 50-200mm

Treasure Trove series

Blip #750

Consecutive Blip #002
Day #835

One year ago: Still Life With Pewter

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.