A Grand Day Out

Today has been a little different. I cycled with a friend from Edinburgh to the Falkirk Wheel along the Union canal, and then we got a train back from Falkirk High. It mizzled pretty much all day, with patches of slightly heavier rain here and there, and one or two moments when it wasn't raining (and that wasn't only when we were in the tunnels). Great fun, albeit mud city. I wonder if the man who powerwashes our car from time to time will powerwash my bike. I will go and ask him tomorrow. I'm sure I'll be as stiff as a board tomorrow despite leaping straight in the bath as soon as we got home. That's definitely further than I have cycled since 2004 when we went on a cycling holiday in the Czech Republic just before we moved to Edinburgh.

Despite my overwhelming admiration for the Wheel as a piece of high aesthetic functional design, I've gone instead for a picture of the Grangemouth, juxtaposed with the verdant farmland and farm buildings that line the canal.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.