Grim

day on the roads!

So grateful I was still able to get to work in one piece albeit an hour and a half late and then enjoy a short walk in the sunshine at lunchtime :)

I set off from home at a quarter past seven as usual, and had just gone past the point of no return (the Vodafone roundabout as its known locally)...when the radio announced there had been a pile up in lane 3 on the M4 at junction 13!  All of a sudden the traffic came to a grinding halt and we went nowhere for almost an hour :(    

I didn't dare put my phone to my ear, even though we were stationary...but I did slide my phone out of my bag onto the seat, found the agency no and called...then put the phone on speaker to let them know.  They  then called work for me to let them know...

I saw another 'twit' (I can think of something else I'd call them though) who got out of his car...left the door open, then opened the boot and stood hunting for something whilst in this slow moving traffic (and in the outside lane which has another lane of traffic pulling into it off the A34!!!

Thank God I had 'Rory' and not my old car which would have huffed and puffed.  Thank God I have an automatic now or I'd have been almost unable to walk (I know from past experience)....  Thank God I wasn't involved...

So many things to be thankful for, but I was really frustrated that my stomach played up and my IBS was bad, because I'd got so nervous in the traffic (and we had to pass the remainder of the 13 vehicles involved still on the hard shoulder, plus  just before then I was on the inside lane on the M4 still in heavy traffic when a recovery vehicle shot down the hard shoulder so fast it was coming and then it had gone past).

Glad to be home with Mr Billy curled up beside me....  planning a restful evening :)

Happy Tuesday folks :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.