Mare's tails..

... at least I think that's what you call these kinds of clouds.
An unexpectedly beautiful day - bright breezy and some incredible clouds going on. I zoomed over to Schull to pick up my half of the next card delivery (all good except two that should be square have come out rectangular - how?) then hurtled home so son number 1 could take the car. He's gone off in search of interesting rock formations at Garrettstown, as you do. Himself had gone up the mountain so I decided a walk was needed as well and went off to Reenmore. Amazing views in all directions and the sun on my face,lovely. A bit of snooping ensuded too as there were various abandoned houses on the way. One I really want to get into but it is completely surrounded by briars now but everything remains within. Another has almost disappeared under the greenery but is still fascinating. I disturbed a family of swallows.
The landscape won out in the end though. The tower on the hillside is Lord Bandon's Folly, built as part of the Famine relief in the 1840s. Starving men were recruited by the local landowner, Lord Bandon, to do building work in return for meagre wages or food. A coastal road was cut at the same time as this folly was erected. It remains an enigmatic shell.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.