Tammie norrie

Shetland Day 2
Heavy rain and gales overnight but we were snug in our small tent and awoke to calm and thick mist. Decided to carry out our original plan and head to the southern tip and hope the weather would improve.
Jarlshof was a good place to be with a good audio guide to the many layers of history and we could see the mist gradually lifting so decided to walk to Sumburgh Head.
It was a lovely walk with increasing numbers of seabirds (and 2 gorgeous young wheatears which I'll put in an online album later) and when we neared the lighthouse the puffins were just over the wall. I missed one with a sandeel (someone got in the way) but my sports mode gave a great sequence of one stretching and flapping. There were several good ones but I chose this as he isn't just sitting there looking smart.
The sun came out about 1pm and we had a lovely afternoon with a walk over Compass Head and past Sumburgh airport - one runway extends into the sea at both ends and there are traffic lights on the road!
Back at the campsite I decided to run down to the beach, only a mile and a bit but I didn't manage to run all the way back - the "down" was steeper than I thought!
That was the day before, we actually walked down after tea and watched the seals watching us

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.