Sussex churches continued....

I am really enjoying my trip round the beautiful churches of Sussex, and this one St Nicholas church in Worth  is a real peach!
Mr U&L and I nearly didn't bother going this morning as it was so dull and miserable looking, but I am so glad we decided to go in the end. According to 'achurchnearyou' This pretty church dates from about 950 AD and was constructed in a clearing of the great forest of Anerida. The church may well have been in the possession of Saxon kings for many generations, and is often described as the most perfect specimen of a Saxon cruciform church in England. 
In 1986 a fire destroyed the 19 century roof of the nave , and the church underwent extensive renovation which took nearly 2 years to complete, allowing a team of archaeologists to examine the normally inaccessible parts of the structure.
Today it sits up a quiet road in the Maidenbower estate, in a beautiful churchyard brimming with spring snowdrops between the lichen covered gravestones a real beauty, and one I shall visit again very soon.
I have added a shot of the snowdrops in my extras, and another of a single double snowdrop.....just so beautiful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.