"Very Like A Whale ...."

I met my daughter and granddaughter in John Lewis in Welwyn Garden City for a spot of shopping. As usual we were well looked after and had soon got the items needed. 

I suggested that we go for lunch at Tewin Bury Farm Hotel. I've been there once for a coffee and I like the feel of the place. The 'girls' really took to it. My granddaughter ordered whiting and the waiter said, "Good choice, it's like a whale." I was a bit taken aback.

No need to have worried. When her meal arrived the fish was indeed 'very like a whale' but as you can see she was delighted, having had no breakfast and starving. My red mullet with smoked aubergine, samphire and saffron emulsion was delicious and my daughter's mushroom risotto with parmesan crisps equally so. We seldom shop or lunch together, it was lovely for a change.

I went into the hide which is at the entrance to the farm after the family had left but no wildlife was showing. Not surprising in the pouring rain.       

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.