Writing High

Felt slightly elated today writing the 'bones' of a driving feature for a national newspaper promotional supplement I've been commissioned to write. It's been a while since I put my motoring journalism 'hat' on but it felt as familiar as an old friend.

I spoke to a couple of former motor industry PRs to source expert quotes and it felt as if we'd only spoken yesterday, not three or four years ago!

My feeling of elation had a scientific reason too...paint or varnish fumes were seeping through the walls from the neighbouring cottage currently undergoing restoration works.

At first the smell was subtle but by the end of the afternoon it was overpowering resulting in a headache, nasty taste in my mouth and by the time I drove to my parents' house this evening my eyes were swollen and my throat raw. I'm thankful to be away working the next few days.

This evening dad and I watched The Martian. It was superb but I have to say it didn't compare to the gripping realism of the audiobook and the intrigue as the story unfolded when hearing it for the first time.

My mind has been preoccupied by science today from the technology behind vehicle safety to the reaction of the human body to chemicals to the wonder of the space program.

I find the voice of Canadian ISS astronaut Chris Hadfield in my head saying: "How do you overcome your biggest fear? What's the scariest thing you've ever done?'

My biggest fear is to not make a difference, which is why I am so determined - a trait from my grandmother (see yesterday's blip). The scariest thing I've ever done was to fly an aeroplane solo. I cannot wait to do that again....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.