Berkeleyblipper

By Wildwood

I woke up this morning (yes, I actually slept last night) to sunny skies. Full of energy I lept out bed only to realize that I was missing my Pilates class. Oh well, no matter, I decided to take advantage of the beautiful day and go out in search of a blip. I was surprised at how many things presented themselves as splendid subjects, but I wasn't happy with any of the results. It's difficult to edit a broad subject down to an interesting picture.

Undaunted, I moved on to Coffee with my long time group of Women Who Solve the World's Problems. An interesting discussion, based on the work of a deaf mute man named James Castle, ensued along the lines of "what is art, what is craft, and are they the same?" I represented the craft side, whilst my companions were an artist, a potter, and a paper conservator. No definitive conclusions were reached but the coffee was excellent, the sun was shining and it was a delight to be back in the company of these excellent women.

For today's blip I offer an example of my craftiness; a hand sewn skirt made from cotton knit fabric, upholstery weight thread, fabric paint and beads.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.