Quotidian

I don't really know why but 'Quotidian' is one of my favourite words and I've recently been reminded that it's not as well known as it should be. It captures the spirit of a lot of my street photography, most often the pictures that don't quite manage to get posted here as blips. It refers to the ordinary things of life which occur every day, largely unnoticed. It still surprises me how extraordinary the ordinary can be when a single moment is frozen in time like this.

My day at the office consisted of lots of ordinary moments which didn't feel like they added up to anything extraordinary at all. I did get out for a short run in the evening in the hope of a boost for the evening shift, but that was unexpectedly and strangely deflating. A down and down kind of day. They happen sometimes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.