a town called E.

By Eej

Drought


Michigan is not among the 26 States where the drought has been declared a natural disaster, but that's only because we have so many lakes and a high watertable. Many crops are failing here too, Maple Lake stinks even worse than normal and on a smaller scale, my crab apples have started to turn colour like it's autumn.

I'm waiting for the first t-shirt or bumpersticker to blame President Obama for the lack of rain. There has to be a redneck somewhere who thinks the 2 are related? Ugh. I hate election years. A lot of people are VILE here when it comes to politics. Not just passionate or driven, or something else you can give a positive spin to - but nasty, personal, uncompromising and aggressive. The Beloved says both sides are equally horrible - I think it's ALL stupid and wish the word 'compromise' wouldn't be considered such a dirty word.

Bring on February 2013 - when this hullabaloo will be over and we can all go back to some sort of normalcy. Or, failing that, maybe I can convince the Beloved a move to Canada will do us good. I think I would LOVE Canada.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.