Trench

I realise this isn't the most interesting blip but I thought I would journalise it for the record.

Last night we had 59mm of rain in 20 minutes. Jo was out at her Dad's place and delayed coming home because of the sheer volume of rain falling. She called me and I told he not to worry because it wasn't raining here. Well ten minutes later the rain arrived here. Poor Jo had to drive home through it.

Anyway, as per normal our garden flooded. It is a combination of the lay of the land and the amount of runoff from sheds and houses. It really irritates me that it all comes through out garden and more importantly, under our house. We run the risk of the house stumps moving because of soil saturation.

So today I deepened the trench up against the back fence and layed some u-channel along the side of it. You would think that the u-channel would be better inside the trench but unfortunately it is just not up to the job of directing the water. So, my current plan is to use it as a sort of wall while deepening the trench.

Now the water should run behind my shed. Don't ask where it goes from there...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.