Indian Festival of Colours

This morning I made my way down the The Commons to take some shots of the Christchurch Holi Festival of Colours. It was a really hot day and I just about melted in the heat.

I went last year much later in the day and it seemed much busier. Today I went just after they opened. The fences were further out this time so I couldn't get as many good shots like last year between the wires. I would have loved to have gone inside but my asthma wouldn't like the power floating round.

Everyone seemed happy and having so much fun. The shot of the couple on the right were very happy for me to take their photo and thought I was from a newspaper. The girl looking at me in the shot 2rd right at the bottom.. I missed such a beautiful smile she gave just after I hadn't taken this shot.

The "Festival of Colours" is a time for Hindus to relax social codes. Barriers between rich and poor, men and women, young and old are broken down by Holi's bright colours. A familiar saying is bura na mano, Holi hai—don't be offended, it's Holi!
For more information on the the Holi Festival of Colours

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.