Photos from a random mind

By katkatkat

Big Damn Heroes

Today I pushed myself as hard as I have in a long time. The marathons are challenging but for different reasons. This was just plain fun, with a bit of pain and a lot of mud.

Today we took part in the Tough Mudder, an 11.5 mile run with around 26 military style obstacles. It was a fantastic day, there were lots of hills, loads of mud, some crawling through the mud, barbed wire, trenches, tubes, floating barrels to bob under, skips full of ice water to swim through, more mud, a scramble up a steep ramp to plunge in to cold water, logs to carry, logs to climb over, logs to crawl under, a quagmire (so much fun, deep trenches filled with muddy water and big heaps of mud to climb up and over), two sets of electric shocks and a 15 foot quarter pipe to run up. Added to that was the typical rainy Scottish summer which gave you no chance to warm up after water obstacles. It was AWESOME! And we got a free beer at the end.

The rest of our photos will go up online tomorrow but for now I'm trying to find a part of me that isn't bruised so that I might get a comfy night's sleep

The shot is of my team, the Big Damn Hereos. The wood you can see behind us is the 8 foot wall they make you climb to enter the starting area. We adopted an honourary member to our team before the end of the first mile as he was slow and his friend had been training for months so he allowed him to go ahead. Part of the Tough Mudder Pledge is "I will help my fellow mudders complete the course" so we did.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.