A Meandering Life...

By Skeena

Tiny Tuesday 41 :: TT41 :: A Tiny Bit of History

A Tiny cheat here, bear with me...

During the 12 years I was a member of the Police Royalty Protection Department I took on many duties and also got involved with many extra activities. One was researching an event that happened at the Palace during WW2 for which the details had been lost, or at least to the serving officers. 

In March 1941, 75 years to this very day the Palace came under attack from German bombers. As a result a PC was killed within the grounds. 

Tonight, at the same time those events unfolded back then I told the story and how I managed to get a plaque unveiled by The Queen Mother at the very spot he died. You can read the full story on my website dedicated to the officer here. A Death at Garden Gate.

The second half of the evening I revealed the result of the first ever Annual Inter Club Competition between ourselves and the Rotorua Camera Club in New Zealand. With the help of their member, Megl, 8 members from each club submitted images to be judged by an independent judge. 


Rotorua won the overall with 147 points to our 142. My image was given “Best Image” and a Honours certificate. You can see all the images here: OPS v RCC

We are now planning the return match for next year…

This small statue is a favourite of mine and speaks of the traditional form of policing I enjoyed so much.

Lastly can I thank everyone who has responded to my Mono Monday Blip yesterday with Hearts, Stars and kind comments. I have been so busy getting ready for tonights club meeting to get to thank you all. ;o))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.