Dressing table still life

Dear Diary,

I must confess that I am going through a bit of Downton Abbey withdrawal.  I am probably not alone.  It was a wildly popular series on PBS and it will be missed by millions.  The era that the series took place in, the 1920's, is a fascinating one historically.  That was part of the draw for me.  I visited Highclere Castle when I was in England and it is an amazing edifice.  Architecture has always been a passion for me.  And then there was the clothing styles.  The Maine Historical Society is presenting an exhibition of clothing from that period this month and I plan to see it.

I think my dressing table has a bit of a Downton Abbey vibe.  I got it years ago and I love it.  The idea of "dressing" for dinner, can you imagine such a thing now?  I suspect that was part of Downton Abbey's appeal to many.  There was a style and graciousness to that time that is long gone.  Manners counted.  They certainly don't today it seems.  There was a lot of downside to that decade before the Depression of course and I really wouldn't want to return to it but, maybe, for just one night...  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.