Birthday!

I have been home from work this week, enjoying a bit of a 'Staycation' and filling my week with several birthday-related outings. TODAY was my actual birthday and who better to help me celebrate but my big sister!!

Tina arrived just before lunchtime laden with gifts (both birthday and late Christmas) and a big happy balloon. We headed to Reading to my chosen place for lunch - Wittington's Tea Barge - a tea room on a narrow boat on the Thames. I may have just mentioned on previous blips that I am fascinated with narrow boats so I love this little place!  We had a full 'High Tea' - sandwiches, scones with clotted cream and jam, and a selection of cakes. All washed down with big pots of tea. All very delicious!  

After lunch we quickly stopped at a couple of furniture shops so that Tina could give her opinion on the new sofas I've chosen (she approves!) and then a quick stop at home to see Dolly.

I had a surprise outing of my own planned - a surprise for Tina!  There was a circus in town - just outside my village, and so we went!  (See the Extra Photo.)  This was the Paulos Family Circus - all run by the same family over many generations. This was their 200th year tour. A small circus but we both thought it was great fun and we laughed a lot!  As far as I could see we were the only adults there without children. What a hoot!  

This evening we cooked together - a Swedish recipe that my friend and fellow-Blipper sent me (Alice's mum!). Tina's husband was working nearby and joined us as well - the Swedish Salmon Pudding (laxpudding) was delicious!  

What a fab birthday!  Thank you everyone who made it special - and for SO many Facebook birthday greetings as well.  I'm feeling very loved!  (And I have a couple more outings planned!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.