photosbyjon

By photosbyjon

Day 75 of 366 - The Unknown Building!

Today's image was taken early this evening in the Much Park Street area of Coventry City Centre. The image is of a mysterious Medieval Sandstone building dated to about the late 13th or early 14th century. This Grade II listed building was actually discovered in the aftermath of a bomb blast during the blitz on Coventry in the Second World War. Most of the buildings in the street were destroyed but this shell of the building remained after all the other more modern buildings burned down around it. There is not a lot known about the origins of this rectangular shaped building. It is thought that it was either a Merchant's house or in some way connected to the nearby Whitefriars friary. Archaeologists found pottery from the 13th and 14th centuries when the site around the House was excavated in 1971.

The photo was taken using the App PureShot on my iPhone 6.

First I used Snapseed to edit the image. I cropped the picture and added the Drama 1 preset. Then I boosted the saturation, ambiance and warmth. Next I used the app Camera Awesome to apply the Shaken not Stirred filter preset. After this I used DistressedFX to add the Stirred overlay and the Lade texture. I then used the app Mextures to add the Baja Sunrise preset by Justin Halbert. Finally I used the app AltPhoto to add the Expired (pink highlights) Toy Camera preset and frame.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.