By George She's Got It

Thanks to George (Bain) and his brilliant explanatory diagrams and examples in his thoroughly researched book, I have a much better handle on the lettering used in Cuthbert's time (700s). He gives great examples from the Lindisfarne Gospels and the Book of Durrow and the Book of Kells.
Cheers, George.
He's prollies long gone by now.
Thanks go to Phoebe and Caroline for their generous offers of resources but I think I got it licked. (I just found out today that there was no letter 'k' in the British or Celtic alphabet... superfluous to requirements really isn't it?... 'cept maybe to harden the 'c' sound when reading aloud... but then how do you know when to say Celtic and when to say Celtic... if you see what I mean - only context tells us I s'pose... fascinating stuff... sorry I'm rambling.
Another great thing happened today. The wonderful Ken Bromley from whom I order most of my art supplies, came up trumps again with a daylight lamp for over my drafting table. (New studio gets a bit dull cos it faces east)
It's a really sturdy, practical, does what it says on the tin sorta item. A fairy dust kinda day really (see extra) ...practice makes perfect.
Practice - now was that used as a verb or a noun in the previous sentence... hmmmm? I plumped for noun and a 'c' - that's a soft 'c' btw... mumble mumble mumble

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.