Breakfast in Venice and lunch in Warwickshire.

We were up very early this morning, and were back home by  around 1:30pm. 
I took this  just as the sun was beginning to rise over the lagoon while we awaited the ferry from Murano.  It was another beautiful day - chilly but sunny.
My extra is the view of the Dolomites taken through the plane window. 
We've had a wonderful few days away, for which I must thank C (Nikonabike). It was his present to me for our wedding anniversary last Christmas Eve.
Oh yes, for those who are still awake and wish to hear the 1966 Burano story...............
On 30th July 1966 I was playing in the sea about 20 miles from Venice, jumping on and off a lilo, when I jumped on what we later found to be a broken light bulb, which resulted in a huge cut on the bottom of my foot. 
Eventually we managed to get to hospital (everyone except us appeared for some reason to be watching the final of the World Cup, in which England won!!) where my foot was duly stitched (no anaesthetic) by a doctor who kept his lit cigarette firmly clenched in his mouth, with about 2" of ash dangling from it.  Next day we went to Venice and Burano and Murano. In Burano I could hobble no further on my crutches so I waited at the top of some stairs in a lace-making place, for my parents to return. The first lady up the stairs gave me some money. the second person saw the first giving me money so they followed suit. By the time my parents returned after about half an hour, I was loaded with cash. My Mum was horrified that all those tourists had thought I was a little Italian beggar. Nothing wrong with being Italian - just the idea that I looked like a beggar. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.