Daily Wild

By emyjane

Mum?

Over at my friend's farm to see her newborn lambs - 15 in all, 3 singles and 6 doubles, a nice mixture of boys and girls.  This little one was hilarious, she was the first to be born and would not leave Sue's side and then stood between her legs and looked up - Sue and I were in stitches, I could hardly hold the camera straight, the look of question on this south down lamb's face was priceless.... as you can see the extra photograph gives you the general idea and then after wards she wouldn't let Sue walk away without walking in front and tripping her over!

Sadly today, heartbreak happened, Louie's nest was attacked - he had been so secretive to where the nest was, but I did have my suspicions and I heard them alarm calling and going berserk, so I clambered up on the hedge and peered into the hole of the crab apple tree where they were flitting to and fro is confusion and panic - an empty nest :(  A magpie perhaps?  Weasel?  Grass snake?  Who knows, but it was empty. Louie was at my shoulder, not angry that I was there, just questioning, peering in and looking at me confused and his mrs - Leah (only named today) with him, both together on the branch.  After a while he had some worms and inevitably took them to the nest but found no-one and his panic started again and he swallowed them.  I left them to go and see the lambs.  3 hours later, they were still at the nest, but Louie was collecting worms and feeding Leah - so they'll start again - I know they will - just so so shattering, nature is so so cruel and I just didn't know how to console him, he was staring at me in some unspoken language, looking at his wife, looking at me and then peering into the empty nest - half singing, half alarm calling - she was singing too, but muffled.  Oh God, just so so sad :(  So out of respect for Louie, no pictures of him today xxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.