Kendall is here

By kendallishere

As we dream it can be

Jens and Petra have moved to the USA from Germany, and little Stella was born in Portland. They invited me to do a photo-shoot with them to create some pictures for the grandparents back home. I took over 300 pictures, and I love every one of them because the love of the adults for each other and for their baby girl radiates from every pixel. They built their careers and their relationship, and they waited till they were forty to have Stella. Now they are able to give themselves completely to loving her. We talked about the difference age makes--how very young parents often feel imprisoned by their children, while older parents are free simply to adore them. They have been surprised at how interesting Stella is: how every day she discovers something for the first time. Her facial expressions, the way she uses her hands, the books she loves them to read to her, the dances she creates: it's all miraculous. Unbelievable.

Their home is decorated in the colors of stained glass, and some of the pictures are like rose windows, gorgeous for the colors and the light. They live across the street from a park, and we climbed the hill with their dogs. They lifted Stella and spun her around, laughing. They made music with her. They laughed, and on one occasion she cried and had to be comforted. All made beautiful pictures, but I chose this one to blip because of the intimacy and the love in it. I have enjoyed many privileges in my long rich life, each one glorious in its way, and this moment of privilege today, this intimacy with this loving family, is a gift I will always cherish. I'm glad we also got a few pictures they can use.

I've added a Blipfolio because I can't stop with just one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.