Expanse of the Canterbury Plains

High winds and torrential rain meant no plan A or plan B. But the other advertised club trip was still on.

I ditched my iceaxe and crampons, let the hunter know my change of plans and grabbed my gear. No little bag with money and cards.

I know I packed them late yesterday. Frantic looking, more calls to the hunter. Did I accidentally send it off with him with some of my post-tramp/Monday work gear?

He checked my gear at his place, I emptied my pack, checked my boots, checked my pockets.... time ticked away.

No, I wouldn't meet the hunter at my trip meeting place. I needed to know where my cash and cards were. More looking by him and me. No success :-(

My plans to escape Christchurch for the day to gain perspective and rejuvenate unraveled. With time pressure off I quietly retraced my steps, checking drawers, hot water cupboard and eventually the spare bedroom. There it was, one small zip lock plastic bag with $43 cash, cash card and credit card.

Too late to tramp but not too late to salvage my day. By mid-morning I was in the country with the hunter. Country air, space, fresh air, no broken buildings or pumps.

I chose this shot for 2 reasons.

1. We adjusted the flow of the local water race just a few metres from where I stood to take this shot late in the day. A couple of basic black plastic pots you buy plants in, with different sized holes determine the flow. Today the flow was too low so we removed them and hid them in the grass.

It's all high tech - at least on the water race that feeds the hunter's ponds ;-)

2. The eastern portion of the Greendale Fault that ruptured 4 September 2010 runs beneath where I'm standing. The closest house to the railway line metres to the right of me was split in half and has been rebuilt. Good to hear someone's home is rebuilt.

The water race also has a series of large stones and bricks that channel the flow down and into 2 races running in different directions. Whenever there is a quake out around Rolleston the hunter comes down here and rebuilds the bricks and stones. They're not small but the ground movement and water pressure combine to send them tumbling. When they collapse the water only travels along one race.

No, I wasn't scared. I frequently pass over this point either by car or when running. I was awed though by the the sight of stormy clouds over the mountains, setting sun, a huge expanse of plains and the small wonders of daily life that flow from the water race.

Then to run back to the hunter's where a hot shower, warm fire and dinner await.

A good and restorative day indeed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.