Let's Just Stay Under the Covers and Be Cats!

Sunday morning arrived gray, overcast, and chilly, with the possibility of some snow flurries in the forecast later in the day. It was a good day for staying in. And so, with nothing major on my agenda, I set out some blankies and pillows on the bed, and after accomplishing our early-morning matters, Dexter and I curled up in the bed. We decided we'd just stay under the covers and be cats!

I had gathered my usual stuff: the latest book I'm reading (Reliquary, by Preston and Child, a follow-up to the marvelous 1995 book Relic, featuring crime fighter Aloysius Pendergast), my house journal, my latest to-do list, a book about trees I just bought, a book about trees I just borrowed, a list of tree photos for my upcoming photo book, and the menu to the Creme Stop where we ate last week when visiting my parents (I am one who believes in proper prior planning, and I am already planning my next meal from the Creme Stop, whenever that may be).

I looked out the window but nothing was happening with the weather. In the afternoon, a couple of handfuls of fat, lazy flurries would fly by. I had the tiny Christmas tree in the bedroom lit, and it sparkled and shone merrily; I promised my husband I'll take it down after the last snow. But for now, it's still Christmas here!

And of course, Dexter was curled up under the blankets between my feet, purring and snoozing. He is good company that way. At one point, I looked down and discovered a pair of tabby-paws sticking out from under the covers. I know whose paws those are!

Dexter is a tabbycat with four white paws, which he has come by honestly. His two brothers and his mom have them too. Dexter's paws are all totally pink on the toepads except that one of them - his front right paw - has a dark splotch on it. I like to joke and say that this is his signature paw; I'd know him anywhere by it! When I hold him, it is that paw that I hold to my heart. :-)

The song to accompany this mellow Sunday morning, where Dexter and I decided to just stay under the covers and be cats together, is a favorite Pat Benatar tune: Let's Stay Together. It's from her wonderful 1988 album Wide Awake in Dreamland, which I can't recommend enough. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.