peterdawson

By peterdawson28

Cake Expectations (Part 1)

An inordinate amount of time has been consumed today in the production of this (slight overcooked looking) simnel cake, hence the less than inspired photo.

Having been to the shops this morning to buy the all important cooling rack (only £5 which I thought was a bargain!), I was half way through weighing out the ingredients when the battery in my scales decided to die - so it was off to the shops again!

Obviously the cake requires finishing with a vast slab of marzipan (which is why I like simnel cake so much) and a little icing, but this will wait until Saturday when it gets transported down to Hastings. This of course gives scope for a further gratuitous cake blip should I fail to find anything even remotely more interesting.

I can say with some confidence that this is a proper Easter cake for truly it has risen......I'm sorry, I'll get my coat..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.