Apples and Oranges

By Anitsirk

The last weeks I've been learning a lot about baking cakes. I offered to make cakes for my cousin and his wife when they were having a wedding party for his friends and family in Sweden. They had another party for her side of the family in Germany last September, too weeks after they got married. Since he's almost like my little brother I wanted to make an effort and make nice cakes with a surprise.
I made a test cake to try out the flavors and colouring and how to make a fondant to cover the cake with. She doesn't like marzipan, but he does... so the decoration - except for the grand piano - is marzipan. The test cake when really well to make and the fondant was easy to work with, the cake was very smooth and looked nice so I made more. My friends who tried the cake liked it, but we made small changes. 
Yesterday when I was about to cover the important cakes, everything with the fondant went wrong... I was so frustrated... But I covered up the most hideous parts with the red marzipan music border and hoped for the best. On the heart shaped cake - where the grand piano stand - I just made the top part with fondant. My cousin came and picked up the two cakes with his car, and my mum followed him home. I stayed behind to make more decorations and come up with a panic solution for the heart shaped cake. I made two batches of lemon butter cream, took some tools with me to cover up the sides of the heart shaped cake with the butter cream. Thankfully my 'sister in law' and my cousin thought the cakes wonderful and the look on their faces when I put the grand piano on top of the heart shaped cake was wonderful to see. :) And when they cut the cake it had different shades of red. All ended well... guest liked the cake (and took many pictures...) and I will not make a fondant cake ever again... 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.