CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

The derelict barn at Boundary Court, Woodchester

I went to spend the afternoon with Helena, who is on dog sitting duty  a couple of miles form home at Woodchester. I brought some salmon which H. cooked for lunch and we managed to have a hunt the Easter Egg session in the garden before the rains returned.

I mentioned that I had a notice about Blip challenges and that today was to be 'Derelict Sunday'.  H. mentioned that she had seen a suitable  barn on her walk earlier in the day, so we headed there again after we'd eaten. The walk started on a footpath on the other side of the road which joined another path leading into a small National Trust estate.

I did have a bit of difficulty in walking up the valley but I'm glad I managed it as the views were not only new to me but delightful. We crossed several meadows which are only grazed and not ploughed at all, lying just on the lees steep slopes below thick woodland that lined the hilltops.

The barn is now disused and shows signs of being patched in recent times but without some serious work to the walls and the see through corrugated iron roof the end is in sight. Helena walked back along the other side of the valley but I stayed and waited for a heavy shower to pass.  The sun then began to shine  and I walked back up into the coombe behind the barn and looked back towards Woodchester and Rodborough Common in the distance on the far side of the Nailsworth valley.  The black cloud can still be seen in the distance but the sun shone brightly on the slopes.

As an 'Extra photo', I have added a view of the barn as we walked towards it, with Helena and Blossom, the dog, ahead of me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.