New Olympic sport?

'O' is for Olympic.

Continuing the Alpha(Bet) males - The life in my men in my life - July challenge,

Last weekend I met one of my cousins, a highly qualified doctor who had applied to be a volunteer doctor at the Olympic Games.

In their egalitarian wisdom the Olympic organisers decided all volunteers had to go through the same interview process. She explained what happened.
Interviewed by a youth in a 'hoody', she was asked:

'Give us some examples of voluntary work you have done to qualify you to be a volunteer'

'Well, I've been a doctor for 30 years, I work as a GP and in a hospital and I'm a professor in my area of expertise.'

'No, that's your profession, we need examples of volunteering.'

'But, I'm applying to be a volunteer doctor.'

'So what voluntary work have you done to qualify you for this role?'

'Oh come on! OK , once a chap collapsed on the tube train I was on and I helped him.'

'That's not really a volunteer role.'

'No, but I am a doctor, so I went to his aid.'

She failed the interview and was rejected. She wrote to complain about the interview, stating that surely to volunteer as a doctor, the main qualification needed, really is to be a doctor. Eventually after a lengthy exchange of emails, they changed the procedure and she has been accepted and is now working as a volunteer doctor, full time, in the Olympic village with the athletes.

O is also for Olly...
Once upon a time there was an Olly, Oooooh! Nice, thanks. The End.


For those of you, like me, that didn't know, this is the official 2012 song 'Survival' by Muse...

Any thoughts?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.