Daily Encounters

By RonaldBerry

Mayan Roofers

Mayan Roofers

Our Maya Tulum yoga retreat has provided us so many treats beyond what we expected.

One of these unexpected treats is the re-roofing of one of the thatched roofed buildings near to our cabana.

I have enjoyed following the progress each day since I watched they roofers remove all of the old thatching. Construction sites fascinate me endlessly.

The manner in which the palm fronds are wrapped around the rod that holds the row in place on the roof rafters is ingenious.

Mostly I get a kick from the genuinely cheery "Hola" from the roofers when they notice me observing their work.

Their pleasant affect and measured pace of the workers fits perfectly with the languid milieu that is Tulum.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.