Mono-Monday: "A New Beginning" - New Junction

The arrival of spring in the Northern Hemisphere made us consider "New Life" as the Mono-Monday challenge for today, as there's so much new life bursting out everywhere. However we thought that might be a little difficult for our blip-friends in the Southern Hemisphere so my "Editor" kindly came up with the broader topic "A New Beginning".

This local crossroads is undergoing a New Beginning. Currently it's a staggered junction which makes the traffic light sequence very complex, and it tends to be a bottleneck in the rush hour. So they're busy altering it to a straight crossroads at a cost of £1.5m. I'm sure it'll improve things a bit - but it'll probably just move the bottleneck to another junction!

I've been amused that two other local crossroads have recently been converted from roundabouts to traffic lights "to improve traffic flow". Then we visited Oxford and found a busy junction which has recently been converted the other way, from traffic lights to a roundabout, "to improve traffic flow". Interesting!! I'm not convinced that our local changes have really improved things for drivers, and the taxi drivers seem to agree - although I admit that it's now easier as a pedestrian to cross the roads there. And it gave the workmen a job for several months.

I'm really looking forward to seeing everyone's Mono-Monday blips and choosing which ones should have Hearts and Honourable Mentions. I know it'll be a very tricky choice again. I plan to announce my decisions in my blip on Wednesday or Thursday.

Please tag your blips "MM116". Have fun!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.