Pottering around the charity shops again, I found this boys' annual. No date of publishing, but the inscription inside shows it was a Christmas present for some lucky boy in 1938.
I had a look - not my thing, just lots of tales of derring-do, most set in some far-flung outpost of the British Empire.
But just look at the picture ! Initially I read it as " the last flying-boat " but it's actually " the latest " - Imperial Airways' Canopus, launched in 1936.
I love flying-boats, and hoped there might be a piece about them in the annual - but no, it was just the picture.
Like most flying-boats, she had a brief life, and was broken up in 1946, long before the value of these magnificent aircraft was appreciated. So here she is, for the delectation of anyone who, like me, would give anything just to see an old flying-boat in the air again. Never going to happen.
See ( and hear ! ) her flying here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.